Public Document Pack



Dear Councillor

COUNCIL - MONDAY 14 MAY 2018

Please find attached the Extended Order of Proceedings relating to the item below.

Agenda No Item

3 THE ELECTION OF THE MAYOR OF THE COUNCIL (Pages 1 - 4)

Yours sincerely

York levos

Director of Governance and Partnerships



Agenda Item 3



THE BLACKPOOL COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

14 May 2018, 2.00 pm in the Council Chamber

Extended Order of Proceedings

1. Seating

Council members and invited guests to their seats in the body of the Chamber, prior to the start of the meeting.

2. Councillor David Owen enters the Council Chamber

Actual order of entry and seating:

Councillor David Owen: To the dias

Chief Executive (Neil Jack):

To his place on the dais

Chaplain (Reverend Augusta Gibrill): To her place in the Chamber

Note:

The Mayor Elect (Councillor Gary Coleman), the Mayoress Elect (Councillor Debbie Coleman), Deputy Mayor Elect (Councillor Kath Rowson), Deputy Mayoress Elect (Ms Joan Goldin), Councillor Ian Coleman and Mrs Mavis Coleman, to remain in the Parlour.

3. Prayers - Reverend Augusta Gibrill

BUSINESS:

4. Election of Chairman for the first part of the meeting

Council to be asked to confirm Councillor David Owen as chairman for the first part of the meeting only.

5. Apologies for absence

6. The Election of the Mayor of the Council

To propose: Councillor Ivan Taylor **To second:** Councillor Kim Critchley

This will then be voted upon.

After the election of the Mayor:

- Chief Executive, Proposer (Councillor Ivan Taylor), Seconder (Councillor Critchley) and Mayor's Chaplain (Reverend Augusta Gibrill) to the Mayor's Parlour.
- At this juncture the meeting will be temporarily adjourned whilst the Parlour ceremony takes place.

Parlour ceremony:

- Investiture of the Mayor (and Mayoress) with the Chains of Office.
- Presentation of past mayor's medal to Councillor Ian Coleman and bouquet to Mrs Mayis Coleman by Mayor Councillor Gary Coleman.
- Presentation of bouquets by Councillor Ivan Taylor to Mayoress Councillor Debbie Coleman, Deputy Mayor Councillor Kath Rowson and Deputy Mayoress Ms Joan Goldin.

After the investiture:

- The newly appointed Mayoress (Councillor Debbie Coleman), the Proposer (Councillor Ivan Taylor), the Seconder (Councillor Critchley), Councillor Ian Coleman and Mrs Mavis Coleman to return to their places in the body of the Chamber.
- The Deputy Mayor Elect (Councillor Kath Rowson) to remain in the Mayor's Parlour along with the Deputy Mayoress Elect (Ms Joan Goldin) prior to being announced into the chamber, following her election. During this time, the Civic Attendant will invest the Deputies with the Chains of Office.

7. Entry of the new Mayor

Actual order of entry and seating:

Mayor (Councillor Gary Coleman): To his place on the dais

Chief Executive (Neil Jack): To his seat adjacent to the Mayor Mayor's Chaplain (Reverend Augusta Gibrill): To her seat adjacent to the Chief

Francistica

Executive

8. The Mayor (Councillor Gary Coleman) to make the Declaration of Acceptance of the corporate office of Mayor

9. The appointment of the Deputy Mayor of the Council

To propose: The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Gary Coleman **To second:** Leader of the Council, Councillor Simon Blackburn

This will then be voted upon.

10. The Civic Attendant to announce the Deputy Mayor

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson) to enter from the Mayor's Parlour with the Deputy Mayoress (Ms Joan Goldin), both of whom go to their designated seats in the Chamber.

11. The Mayor to ask the Deputy Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of the corporate office of Deputy Mayor

12. The Mayor to address the Council and ladies and gentleman of the town:

- (a) in relation to his forthcoming year
- (b) to ask the Council to place on record its appreciation for the ex- Mayor, Councillor Ian Coleman.

13. Speeches of congratulations to the incoming Mayor and words of appreciation for the ex-Mayor: Councillors Simon Blackburn and Tony Williams to speak

Invited guests retire for light refreshments.

Business in the Chamber proceeds according to the Council summons.

Distribution:

All Members of the Council
Mayor's Chaplain – Reverend Augusta Gibrill
Chief Executive and all members of the Corporate Leadership Team
Director of Governance and Partnerships
Head of Democratic Governance
Democratic Governance Senior Adviser
Civic and Member Services Officer
Civic Attendant Service

